World Championships

World Championships 2023


8-13 August 2023, Oirschot, The Netherlands


In summer 2023, Oirschot (NL) is the place to be for the Icelandic horse community. The World Championships for Icelandic Horses (WC2023) are the opportunity to experience the biggest stars in breeding and sports. Horses and riders travel from all over the world to compete for the medals.

We hope the whole Icelandic community will join us! And there is more: shopping, lectures, food, drinks and great company. For all information, look at our website

The WC is organized by Icelandic Horse Projects Foundation and FEIF.


A national sport team at World Championships for Icelandic Horses can comprise of up to 7 rider/horse combinations and a reserve horse, a reserve rider or a reserve rider/horse combination. In addition, up to five extra eligible rider/horse combinations and a reserve horse, a reserve rider or a reserve rider/horse combination can be added to the team, provided that the extra riders are at least 16 years old and not more than 21 years old in the calendar year. Young riders may choose to compete in a separate age division or with the adults.

Only one horse per rider is allowed in the World Championships sport competitions. The rider/horse combination cannot be changed after the final entry. Excepted from this is when the reserve is entered in accordance with the rules.

The reigning World Champions are allowed to participate as World Champion at the succeeding World Championships with the same or another eligible horse.

Photo: Peter Niess



During the World Championships, a Breeding show is organised where each full FEIF member associations may enter a maximum of 2 horses per age group, whereas no reserve horses are possible. The horses may take part in both the breeding and sports classes, but the shoeing may not be changed at all during the World Championships.

A horse may only represent the member association in which it was born. All stallions presented for judgement must have proof of parentage either by blood type or DNA analysis (born from 2006 on).

Stallions and mares are shown in separate classes in the following age groups:
a) 5 years old
b) 6 years old
c) 7 years old or over

European Championships (1970 – 1989)

  • 1970 – First European Championship in Aegidienberg, Germany.
  • 1972 – European Championships in St. Moritz, Switzerland
  • 1975 – European Championships in Semriach, Austria
  • 1977 – European Championships in Skiveren, Denmark
  • 1979 – European Championships in Uddel, the Netherlands
  • 1981 – European Championships in Larvik, Norway
  • 1983 – European Championships in Roderath, Germany
  • 1985 – European Championships in Vårgårda,
  • 1987 – European Championships in Weistrach, Austria
  • 1989 – European Championships in Wilhelmsborg, Denmark

World Championships (since 1991)

  • 1991 – First World Championships in Norrkoping, Sweden
  • 1993 – World Championships in Spaarnwoude, The Netherlands
  • 1995 – World Championships in Fehraltorf, Switzerland
  • 1997 – World Championships in Seljord, Norway
  • 1999 – World Championships in Rieden, Germany
  • 2001 – World Championships in Stadl Paura, Austria
  • 2003 – World Championships in Herning, Denmark.
  • 2005 – World Championships in Norrkoping, Sweden
  • 2007 – World Championships in Oirschot, the Netherlands
  • 2009 – World Championships in Neckertal, Switzerland
  • 2011 – World Championships in St. Radegund, Austria
  • 2013 – World Championships in Berlin, Germany
  • 2015 – World Championships in Herning, Denmark
  • 2017 – World Championships in Oirschot, Netherlands
  • 2019 – World Championships in Berlin, Germany
  • 2021 cancelled (COVID-19), planned: Herning, Denmark
  • 2023 – World Championships in Oirschot, Netherlands

World Champions 2019

Jóhann R. SkúlasonFinnbogi frá Minni-ReykjumIST1 Tölt
Julie ChristiansenStormur frá Hemlu IDKT2 Tölt
Jóhann R. SkúlasonFinnbogi frá Minni-ReykjumISV1 Four Gait
Jón StenildEilífur fra TeglborgDKF1 Five Gait
Teitur ÁrnasonDynfari frá SteinnesiISPP1 Pace Test
Guðmundur BjörgvinsonGlúmur frá ÞóroddsstöðumISP1 Pace Race 250m
Konráð Valur SveinssonLosti frá EkruISP2 SpeedPass 100m
Jóhann R. SkúlasonFinnbogi frá Minni-ReykjumISC4 Four Gait Combination
Magnús SkúlasonValsa från BrösarpsgårdenSEC5 Five Gait Combination
Franziska MueserSpölur frá NjarðvíkDET1 Tölt - Young Rider
Jack ErikssonMilla från AmmorSET2 Tölt - Young Rider
Franziska MueserSpölur frá NjarðvíkDEV1 Four Gait - Young Rider
Leonie HoppeFylkir vom KranichtalDEF1 Five Gait - Young Rider
Benjamín Sandur IngólfssonMessa frá KáragerðiISPP1 Pace Test - Young Rider
Lona SneveStóri-Dímon frá HraukbæNOP1 Pace Race 250m - Young Rider
Helen KlaasVíf van ´t Groote VeldDEP2 SpeedPass 100m - Young Rider
Franziska MueserSpölur frá NjarðvíkDEC4 Four Gait Combination - Young Rider
Elsa TeverudKopar frá SunnuhvoliSEC5 Five Gait Combination - Young Rider